BLT

The South Side Farmer’s Market opened on 6.21 for the 2014 season and #TheFra and I went and bought a ton of great stuff. As I said before the Market has everything from fresh vegetables to meat to locally made honey! It’s a lot of fun to get home from the Market scratch your head a bit and say what am I going to make with all of these beautiful things?!

DSC_8287
I was looking at the bacon I had bought and all I could think about was that I hadn’t had a BLT (bacon, lettuce and tomato) sandwich in almost two years. (I spent last summer thinking that I was gluten intolerant so I didn’t eat bread. And what it a BLT without the bread?!) So I fried up the beautiful bacon that I bought from Quails R-Us sliced up some whole wheat bread from Beta Bread Bakery and #TheFra and I enjoyed sandwiches with a side of sugar snap peas (which I sauteed in some leftover bacon grease with pepper).

DSC_8294 DSC_8288

DSC_8296

For desert we had tea and a lemon ginger scone with fresh strawberries from Purple Peppers Farm. It was the perfect day for sitting on the back porch and enjoying the weather. A light breeze just enough sun and no reason to feel guilty that I wasn’t being productive because I finished the gardening before I went to the market.

DSC_8301

I spent the afternoon learning to sew but that is a story for a different day.

DSC_8295

Leave a Reply

