Kenmore Model 52

DSC_8469#TheFra has a fabulous sewing machine that she purchased while she pregnant with either my Dad or my Uncle Kevin. She is a bit foggy on the dates.  Either way that machine is over 50 years old and is clearly a workhorse. For the past year or so I’ve had the overwhelming desire to learn how to use a sewing machine. I can hand sew but machines SCARE me. So one Saturday a few weeks ago #TheFra and I say down with her machine so I could get acquainted with her. In the end I could clean the machine,  thread a bobbin, thread the machine, change the tension and sew a straight(ish) line. The problem was when I unplugged the bloody thing I ended up being electrocuted. (Can you say oww?!) So we took the machine out of it’s table (did I mention that the machine has it’s own table that is swings in and out of *swoon* it’s so cool) and off to White’s Sewing Center  it went for a tune up. DSC_8466

Of course while the machine was in the shop I discovered that I needed to make a new 18th century petticoat to go with the new gown a friend was making me. (They are WILDLY simple. Add a hem to put a drawstring through and a a straight seem up the side to hold the two ends together and BAM petticoat.) I initially thought I would have to hand sew the entire thing but the machine came back yesterday.

wpid-20140630_104545.jpg

I quickly made sure everything was in working order (i.e. practiced so I wouldn’t bollocks the whole thing up)  and whipped up a petticoat. I’m really excited (and proud) to say that I’ve made something myself AND that it is wearable. Now I just need to have the guts to start using a pattern and having to (*gasp*) cut things.

wpid-img_20140701_202140.jpg DSC_8473 DSC_8474 DSC_8475I really like how the back looks! Although it’ll be covered with the gown anyway. I promise lots of pictures after I wear the new outfit on Friday for the 4th of July!

Also, my friend who made the gown part is a saint. You can tell she is a saint by the picture below. MILLIONS AND MILLIONS of pleats. I don’t think I’m ready for that kind of sewing yet.

wpid-20140629_142240.jpg*Again I’m sorry for the pictures. I need another lesson from my famous photographer friend. (You can find her blogging here.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

