Happy Fourth of July

Happy Fourth of July and God bless America!

On the Fourth every year I go to the Wyoming Monument ceremony in Forty Fort. The unit I reenact with was wiped out in the Battle of Wyoming and this is a ceremony to commemorate there loss. This year is also the 30th anniversary since the 24th Connecticut was founded so I’ve been frantically trying to get a new gown together that fits. My friend Donna has done all of the sewing except the petticoat (skirt) that I threw together on my sewing machine. I’ll post picture from the day soon and I brief history of the Battle. I promise to not copy and paste the 15 page paper I wrote on it in college. 😉

Enjoy this day. Remember why we can celebrate it and remember why we can celebrate it. We are truly lucky to live in this fine Nation and be given the rights the constitutions awards us.

famous-independence-day-quotes-in-1776-1

Leave a Reply

