Happy birthday to the 24th CMR

I have been a member of the 24th Connecticut Militia Regiment since I was 9 years old. The Unit was only 12 years old at the time. The Ceremony is hosted to remember the Battle of Wyoming where most of the members of the 24th were killed on July 3rd 1778 in an effort to stop the fort in Forty Fort from being burned down. (The surrender happened on the 4th which is why the ceremony is that day.)

Yesterday at the Monument Ceremony we celebrated the 30 birthday of the 24th! I can’t even imagine that some of the founding members of the unit have been around for so long. The members who were around in the first few years that I started reenacting are the ones who showed me what the hobby should be like. Fun and stress free with a real handle on the history. They were some of the smartest people I know (and some of the funniest). Some of them have become like family and some have moved onto to other hobbies.  But thank you to the 24th for giving me a deep love of history and for helping shape the career that I wanted to have. (Sadly I don’t have it BUT whatev.)

This is going to be a very picture heavy post so get ready!!


DSC_8513The speakers


DSC_8507
DSC_8485 DSC_8496

The back of my gown. *Swoon*

DSC_8497

Founding members of the unit.DSC_8501 DSC_8499

Dad, me, Burke DSC_8483 DSC_8478 DSC_8537 DSC_8535 DSC_8521

The monument itself. This year you could go into the bottom part.

DSC_8524The President of the Unit and Commanding officer carrying up our flowers

One thought on “Happy birthday to the 24th CMR

Leave a Reply

