Coney Island

When I joined Weight Watchers 18 months ago the first day I went to the message boards to try and meet some people who I felt would understand what I was going through. There are message boards for all sorts of people. 100 pounds to lose, 50 pounds to lose, maintenance, young moms, runners etc. It’s wonderful because no matter what your goals are you can find someone who understands. I found a home on the 100+ pounds to lose board. The people there were welcoming and kind. They cheer your victories and could probably be trusted to solve all of the worlds problems. I’ve been VERY lucky to meet some of the people on the board. One of which was Erin who lives in Brooklyn. We met last summer around this time an bonded over a deep love of pizza and I’ve seen her a handful of times since. She is one of the kindest people I know and she also recently became engaged to another really nice person Ken. Anyway, I’ve spent a lot of time in NYC but like most people who travel into “The City” I really only go to Manhattan. (The bus drops me off there so it’s convenient!!) But I can be bribed out of Manhattan (The Met is there it’s hard to make me want to leave!) by baseball, beach and amusement park rides! So a few weeks ago Burke and I got up REALLY early and took the bus into New York City and found ourselves getting on the subway and HOPING that we picked Erin and Ken up at there stop and heading for Coney Island! When we got off the subway I REALLY did not know what to expect (other then HEAT because it was hotter then I can even tell you!). Clean and pretty like Hershey Park, sketchy like Atlantic City or somewhere in the middle. Well it was somewhere in the middle. Some of the rides looked like they could use a coat of paint but that (for me) was part of there charm. Burke and I rode the Cyclone first (which is a wooden roller coaster) and I’m not going to lie a BIG part of me just kept think YOU ARE TO FAT FOR THIS RIDE. But lo and behold I fit and I loved it. I walked away unharmed save for a few bruises which were totally worth it. roller coaster swing After another few rides it was LUNCH TIME and what would a trip to Coney Island be without a trip to Nathan’s Famous hotdogs?! I don’t really like hotdogs so I had a burger and we all split some AMAZING fries. Afterward we headed to a baseball game. wpid-cymera_20140717_214653.jpg The Brooklyn Cyclone’s are a Met’s farm team who just happened to be playing an Oriole’s  farm team. Now what you probably don’t know is that Burke and I were born in Maryland so this was VERY exciting for us! The game was SUPER HOT (we hid under the roof where the concessions were!) but a lot of fun. Baseball for me is perfect, I can bring knitting, have conversation with my friends, eat ice cream. It’s awesome. Now it was adding up to be a pretty banner day roller coaster, french fries, baseball, ice cream are all of my favorite things so what really could have topped it off?! wpid-20140706_130134.jpg wpid-20140706_134740.jpg   If you guessed walking in the molten lava sand and sticking my toes in the water you are correct!! Coney Island was a lot of fun and if you live in NYC for a $2.50 subway ride WHY HAVEN’T YOU GONE?! If you don’t live there and are looking for something fun to do for a day I would put this on the short list (but did I mention The Met!? You should check that out first!) What really made the day special was chilling with Erin, Ken and Burke who all make the list of my favorite people! wpid-20140706_153941.jpg beach PS: Poor Burke was EXHAUSTED after I dragged him all around Coney Island. On the way back to Manhattan this happened ….  wpid-20140706_183325.jpg

3 thoughts on “Coney Island

Leave a Reply

