Book Review: Confessions of a Prairie Bitch

Once I learned how to read (I was a late bloomer) I couldn’t stop. It magically transported me away to magic lands, places where I was the cool kid, places where people understood me. Reading was the best thing! I will never, ever forget reading that first Harry Potter book on the plane home from visiting family in Texas and begging my Mom to take me to the bookstore to get the 2nd and 3rd books. I remember devouring Ella Enchanted (don’t watch the travesty the called a movie read the book NOW!), the Boxcar Children, Babysitters Club, Little House and anything else I could get my little hands on. As I’ve gotten older technology, schedules, tiredness have taken over my life and I don’t read as much as I should (bad, bad, bad!!) but it is something I’m working on. (I feel like I’m always working on something. Being neater, praying more, being kinder, reading more.) I thought that a good way to keep me reading was if I reviewed a book after finishing it.

I recently read Confessions of a Prairie Bitch (I got it on my Kindle for like 3 dollars). I should caveat this with first I loved the Little House show and that the books the show was (loosely) based on my Mom read to me. I was also Laura Ingalls for Halloween at least twice.

The author, Alison, I saw interviewed on Fox and Friends a few years ago and she talked about abuse during her childhood but didn’t go to heavily into it (or I don’t remember. I’m usually on my first cup of coffee when I watch the news) so I knew that she would likely talk about abuse but I had no idea what a heavy roll it played in her life. Alison candidly talks about her parents (who really in my opinion needed clued into reality), her abusive brother, growing up on the set of Little House and life after the prairie. I loved it. Once I started reading it (it was in the to read pile for almost a year) I couldn’t put it down. The nice thing was I had it downloaded on my cell phone so I could read it during lunch at work. Alison embraced her life as the “bitch” from Little House and has made an interested career both in Hollywood and being an avid activist!

I give this book **** stars.

 

Anyone know how to add my Goodreads account to my blog?

One thought on “Book Review: Confessions of a Prairie Bitch

Leave a Reply

