Christmas Day

Believe it or not Christmas day is the calmer of the two days in my family. Likely, because it is spread out over many more hours. I woke up at 7 am bright eyed and bushy tailed like a hot mess Christmas morning. The many days of entertaining, cooking and preparing finally seemed to have caught up with me. But I got myself dressed in my Christmas pajamas (Old Navy had a sale on flannel PJ pants for SIX dollars a pair. S and I have a matching set now!!) and headed up to my Dad’s house for Christmas bacon, crock pot monkey bread (made by the Brother) and to see if HoHo himself had come! wpid-20141225_084641.jpg

After exchanging gifts with Dad and the Brother I headed back down to my house to exchange with S and #TheFra. I lazed about a bit and then is was time to get my butt in gear.

These PJ's. Awesome.

These PJ’s. Awesome.

wpid-20141225_100347.jpg

S received COAL for Christmas. Which is an ongoing joke in our family AND also because we live in the anthracite coal region.

S received COAL for Christmas. Which is an ongoing joke in our family AND also because we live in the anthracite coal region.

For Christmas day we eat buffet style (there are to many of us to fit around the table) and this year we ate Polish style stuffed cabbage (golabki). We also had keilbasa with horseradish (Chrzan), mashed potatoes (which I normally don’t like but these were tasty), sweet potatoes (leftovers, don’t tell), crudites and Challah bread. Can I mention that I am the oldest of 6 cousins and the youngest is now 22. We still sit at the “kids” table in the parlor. By choice. haha

wpid-20141225_130346.jpg

The two workers.

The two workers.

After we ate it was time to open presents. We have a lot of fun opening presents in my family. Some of them are sweet and thoughtful … some of them are funny and also thoughtful.

Polish Falcon jersey.

Polish Falcon jersey.

My Aunt in her traditional Polish costume (turned into an apron).

My Aunt in her traditional Polish costume (turned into an apron).

#TheFra

#TheFra

After presents we sang Christmas carols. We sang Oh Come All Ye Faithful in Latin (my favorite), and my Aunt (whose from Poland ) led the family (not me) in the Koleda (Polish Christmas aarols). I stay FAR, FAR away from anything in this world that requires me butchering other peoples languages. haha

We had a reasonable amount FOUR pots of coffee for 11 people that afternoon. And the Brother ended up curled up on the bathroom floor sick as a dog. (Poor kid.) S and I went for a walk around Nay Aug Park which as a gift from the Parks and Rec. Department decorates the entire park with Christmas Lights.  It was nice to walk off SOME of what I ate that day. And the time chatting with S was important to me.

wpid-20141225_141902.jpg wpid-20141225_181606.jpg

I went to bed early and awoke early Friday. S was on the 7:20 AM bus and then a friend from high school came to visit. After a movie with a friend I lazed about the rest of Friday. Which I think I earned after all the hosting I did. Now the china is put away, the leftovers are being consumed, the family is where they belong, #TheFra is watching the Big Bang theory and life is normal again.

Again, Merry Christmas!

**PS: I bet you couldn’t tell that #TheFra’s parents were from Poland and that she has kept her traditions alive. 😉

2 thoughts on “Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

