It’s a new year.

I have never been much for resolutions. When I was a child and it was the thing to do I of course made them (and never kept them). As an adult I joined Weight Watchers 2 years ago  January 4th. But that wasn’t  a resolution it was just time. 100 (ish) pounds later and it was a great decision.

Last summer around when my Mom got really sick for the last time I decided it was time to get my shit together. I pay all my bills on time and I’m working on my student loans (sigh) but there always seemed to be more week then money and I really wanted to start having a real savings. So when the Sebring breaks I can fix her. (Or in this case of Mom dies I can drop my life and run to Ohio and maybe give a tiny bit of money to help with expenses.) I was doing pretty well and feeling confident in my abilities. At the same time I kicked butt at weight loss. I cleaned and organized my two rooms at home. I felt like I really had my shit together. Fast forward to Mom dying.

Now 4 months later my room is disorganized. All my drawers are full of junk. I don’t have any savings. And I gained a lot of weight over the holidays. (My favorite jeans don’t fit.)

So I’m slowly getting my act together. I restarted the Dave Ramsey envelope plan and I also started the 52 week savings challenge. I’m hyper organized with this which is good. Accounting for every dollar of money spent.  So far (a whopping 1 week in). I’m doing really well. I have a tiny bit of money paid. I’m ahead on my bills and I’ve got enough spending money to get me through the week. If in a month or so I’m still doing well I’ll check back in and explain more about what I do. wpid-20150109_105149.jpg

Today is the first day that I started my new schedule at work (work Monday-Thursday and Saturday). So I’m off today (Friday). I did all my laundry this morning and I organized one of my dressers. I feel good about that.

Before and after.

Before and after.

It’s also Friday and although I haven’t eaten wonderfully I have tracked every bite since Monday morning. The scale is moving in the right direction and I’m hoping that I don’t look like a cow at the wedding I’m going to at the end of the month.

wpid-1420823739718.jpg

Have a great weekend and look out for my link post. It’ll be up Sunday and I have some great articles.

One thought on “It’s a new year.

  1. Sending you a hug today. Nice job on the debit orginization and also the room cleaning. You WILL get your shit together again. 🙂 I love that you have tracked, even if it wasn’t pretty. Keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

